I don’t ask you readers for much.  Hell, I don’t even ask you to read that much, as I have been sucking at blogging in the last few months.  But I am asking you for this:

Help Tia and Mike Buy A House

My friend Tia, her wonderful husband Mike, and their two lovely girls Sophie (10) and Rosie (3) need a place to live.  They have been renting a duplex for several years, and have recently discovered that the other half of the duplex is running a meth lab (on top of their already awesome violent domestic disputes).  Why doesn’t the landlord get involved?  He doesn’t care – the house is about to be foreclosed upon, so he’s not doing anything, including fixing the washing machine.  But Mike and Tia still have to pay rent, cause, you know, there is at least ONE contract still being enforced.  It may be that they don’t have until the end of the foreclosure process to move – because of the rodent infestation that the landlord also won’t take care of, the city may condemn the house.

The family has been looking for a new rental property in a nice, safe neighborhood that will still be close to Rosie’s daycare and Sophie’s school.  It’s hard to find a place though – Mike has been out of work for almost two years (although he just got not one but TWO new jobs last week!), and Tia is a full time nursing student (she wants to be a midwife).

By some sort of luck, they found a beautiful house in a lovely neighborhood of NE Mpls (the very best neighborhood in town, IMHO)…and the owner is willing to work out a contract to deed with them.  They have half of the down payment saved, but need another $2,500 to $5,000 to make this happen….and that’s where you come  in.

I’m asking all of you…my friends, relatives, and random passersby…to donate $5 to Tia and Mike’s down payment fund.  Seriously, I spent more than that at Starbucks yesterday.  I bet you did, too.  If we can get 404 more people to donate just $5, their new home will be a safe, happy reality.

I wish you  knew (and loved) this family like I do.  Tia helped me bring Liam into this world (she was my doula) and Mike broke the laws of time and space to get her to the hospital in time.  Sophie is turning into a beautiful and thoughtful young woman, and Rosie is just the funniest little girl you’d ever meet (you can follow her on Twitter:  RosieQuotes).  They are good, decent, hard working people, who contribute greatly to their community, their church, are active in the local political scene, and are a rock to their friends.

Please, please, take a minute to click on the link above, and throw a few bucks their way.  I did – now it’s your turn.

Thank you.

