I went to the hospital today for our weekly monitoring, and to see the OB afterwards, and there have been some developments.  Nothing to worry about, so everyone stop hyperventilating!!

Our little guy is still doing great – he’s moving around and doing his breathing exercises, and we keep getting the feedback after the fetal monitoring that he could be in a textbook.  All of that is still good.  However, my amniotic fluid is low (we are below the 10th percentile of the amniotic fluid curve – who even knew there was one of those out there?).  Our nurse told us that if something is happening with the baby, the first sign to show up is usually a decrease in the amount of fluid.  It does not seem as if I am leaking fluid (apparently there’s a test for that, too!) and it could be nothing more than he was blocking a good pocket of fluid from being seen in the ultrasound.  To make sure, we are scheduled for another ultrasound/BPP on Saturday to see how the fluid is doing then.  If we are still low, I’ll be induced on Saturday.  If the fluid is back up to where it’s supposed to be, then we’ll just keep going as we have been, and we’ll set the regularly-scheduled induction at our appointment next Thursday for the next week.

The other thing that’s been weird is my blood sugar – it’s been all over the place for about a week.  Times when I think that I’ve eaten something that should send it through the roof has lowered it, and vice versa.  My OB thinks that’s probably my body getting tired of being pregnant (not just my  body, doc!) and she’s keeping a careful eye on that.

Right now her best guess is that I will pass the fluid test on Saturday and that we’ll go ahead as planned.  I somehow have a feeling that’s not what’s gonna happen, but I’ve been wrong before.  Plenty.  She wants to get us as far along as possible before we start having problems with the placenta due to The Beetus, to give his lungs all the time they need to develop.  But she did mention that our “homework” for tonight was to pack for the hosptial, and not to work on the bedskirt as I had planned.  🙂

So, there’s the update.  Nothing alamaring according to the doc, but I’m a little worried, and, of course, not at all ready for this to be approaching so soon.  Although, is there ANY new mom that feels ready?